Glass art by Joanna Manousis
Exhibitions | 15-04-2022

Artists announced for British Glass Biennale and International Bead Biennale

A total of 103 glass artists have been selected from 223 applications for the 2022 British Glass Biennale exhibition. A further 26 artists have been chosen for the inaugural International Bead Biennale.

The judges for the British Glass Biennale were looking for work that represents the most interesting, diverse and outstanding glass art made in the UK in the last three years. The selected glass art will form a cutting-edge showcase of contemporary British based glass talent, with over £17,000-worth of awards to be won. Prize winners will be announced at the awards ceremony, which takes place at The Glasshouse, Stourbridge, UK, on 25 August 2022. 

Work by established artists and emerging new talent will be on display, including that of 18 students. The judges felt that the selected artists had been brave and innovative, using a wide range of styles and techniques, both traditional and experimental.

The judges for the British Glass Biennale 2022 were Michelle Bowen, Brandi P Clark, James Devereux, Michelle Keeling, Wayne Strattman and Bryony Windsor.

Winners of the prizes chosen through public votes will be announced at the closing ceremony on 1 October 2022.

Artwork by Opal Seabrook
Opal Seabrook’s ‘The Time is Now’ will be shown at the British Glass Biennale 2022.

The artists selected for the British Glass Biennale 2022 are: Scott Benefield, Chris Bird-Jones, Heike Brachlow, Keith Brocklehurst, Theo Brooks, Steve Brown, Sarah Brown, Karen Browning, Susan Burne, Tabitha Burrill, Phillipa Candy, Sabrina Cant, Nina Casson McGarva, Ian Chadwick, Keeryong Choi, Clare Cleary, Kate Courtney-Taylor, Amy Cushing, Vanessa Cutler, Calum Dawes, Christopher Day, James Denison-Pender, Samantha Donaldson, Rachel Elliott, Fiaz Elson, Sally Fawkes, Jahday Ford, Juliet Forrest, Alec Galloway, Hannah Gibson, Emma Goring, Jianyong Guo, Claire Hall, Laura Hart, Gillian Hobson, Charlotte Hughes-Martin, Katherine Huskie, Henry Hussey, Richard Jackson, Angela Jarman, Kate Jones, Joshua Kerley, Alison Kinnaird, Isabella Kullmann, Monette Larsen, Jessie Lee, James Lethbridge, Jon Lewis, Julie Light, Alison Lowry, Alister Malcolm, Bruce Marks, Laura McKinley, Joanne Mitchell, Rachel Mulligan, Tracy Nicholls, Marged Owain, Purnima Patel, Lisa Pettibone, Richard Platt, Verity Pulford, Laura Quinn, Tim Rawlinson, David Reekie, Colin Reid, Bruno Romanelli, Paul Rowbottom, Layne Rowe, Anthony Scala, Opal Seabrook, Cathryn Shilling, Andrea Spencer, Angela Steel, Helen Stokes, Nancy Sutcliffe, Ayako Tani, Louis Thompson, Sue Tinkler, Disha Trivedi, Elliot Walker, Gregory Warren Wilson, Sarah Wiberley, Bethany Wood, Sandra Young and Maria Zulueta.

Students taking part in the British Glass Biennale are: Gregory Alliss, Anthony Amoako Attah, Cherisse Appleby, Ben Bavin, Stephen Chadwick, Wai Yan Choi, Catherine Dunstan, Giles Fearon, Jemma Finch, Dovile Grigaliunaite, Sogon Kim, Joanna Manousis, Tamar Nikki Palmer, Lauren Puckett, Charlott Rodgers, Moonju Suh, Liz Waugh McManus and Yixue Yang.

Artists invited to take part: Matt Durran, James Devereux, and Michelle Keeling.

International Bead Biennale

Bead biennale artwork by Angela Thwaites
Angela Thwaites’ Bacyll bead collection will be shown at the International Bead Biennale. Photo: Ingrida Latviunaite.

There are 26 artists selected for the inaugural International Bead Biennale by a jury comprised of Barbara Beadman, Vic Bamforth and Pauline Holt. 

The artists taking part in the International Bead Biennale 2022 are: Laurie Ament, Keith Brocklehurst, Michael Bullen, Madeline Bunyan, Effie Burns, Ian Chadwick, Anne Clifton, Sarah Downton, Tove Egholt, Rachel Elliott, Josean Garcia, Jennie Lamb, Julie Light, Anu Luht, Michaela Maria Moeller, Maggie Napier, Stéphane Oliver, Astrid Riedel, Tina Smith, Michi Suzuki, Angela Thwaites, Arthur van Buuren, Jolene Wolfe, Shelly Xue, Caterina Zucchi and Mateja Zugman.

Invited artists for the International Bead Biennale are Vic Bamforth, Daisuke Takeuchi and Sakiyo Takeuchi.


The awards on offer at the British Glass Biennale are:
The British Glass Biennale Award – Best in Show
The Worshipful Company of Glass Sellers of London: Glass Sellers Awards and Glass Sellers Student Awards
Glass Arts Society – International Artists Award
The People’s Prize – sponsored by Warm Glass
The Young Collector’s Award – sponsored by the Glass Sellers
Uniting the Planet – themed prize sponsored by the Glass Society
Best Newcomer’s Award – sponsored by the Glass Society
The Guild of Glass Engravers Award.

The awards on offer for the International Bead Biennale are: International Bead Biennale Best in Show and International Bead Biennale Runner Up, both sponsored by Barbara Beadman.

The British Glass Biennale and International Bead Biennale take place at The Glasshouse, Stourbridge, West Midlands, DY8 4HF, on Tuesday to Saturday from 26 August to 1 October 2022. The awards ceremony marks the start of the International Festival of Glass, a four-day event celebrating the drama and excitement of glass. Find out more: 

The organisers are grateful to all the sponsors and supporters: International Festival of Glass, Ruskin Mill Land Trust, Ruskin Mill Trust, Arts Council England, The Worshipful Company of Glass Sellers, Glass Arts Society (GAS), Glass Society, Warm Glass, The Guild of Glass Engravers, Contemporary Glass Society (CGS) and Barbara Beadman.

Main image: Joanna Manousis’ artwork, ‘Bottled Pear’, will feature at the British Glass Biennale. Photo: Tom Brooks.

Glass Network digital brings you all the latest news and features about contemporary glass

Send your news, feature ideas or advertising requests to the Editor Linda Banks


Supplier Directory