Universities/Colleges

City & Guilds of London Art School

Different Summer School short courses featuring glass are offered at this London venue. Check the website for the latest information and class titles. For example, previous courses have included 'An Introduction to Glass as an Artist's Medium' and 'Glass Sculpture: An Introduction to Pate de Verre'.

Location: 124 Kennington Park Road, Kennington, London SE11 4DJ.

Contact: Anne Petters admissions@cityandguildsartschool.ac.uk
Tel: 020 7735 2306.

Website

City Of Bath College

This Somerset-based College offers beginner and advanced courses in different glass techniques. The introductory 'Love2 Learn Course: Glass Techniques' teaches stained glass and kiln-formed glass methods.


Find out more here.


Meanwhile, 'Love2 Learn Course: Glass Techniques - Advanced' covers leaded glass, 2D or 3D copper foiling, plus kiln-formed glass casting, fusing and slumping.

Find out more here.


Location: City Centre Campus, Avon Street, Bath, Avon, Somerset BA1 1UP.

Contact: Helga Watkins-Baker helga.watkins-baker@bathcollege.ac.uk
General info@bathcollege.ac.uk Tel: 01225 312 191.


Website

Crawford College Of Art and Design

Located in County Cork, Ireland, this college offers a BA (Hons) in Contemporary Applied Arts (including ceramics, glass and textiles).

Find out more here.

Address: Munster Technological University, Sharman Crawford Street, Cork City T12 XK25, Ireland.

Contacts: Debbie Dawson debbie.dawson@mtu.ie
General: Trish Brennan - Head of Department trish.brennan@mtu.ie  Tel: 00 353 21 433 5222.

Hammersmith and Fulham Adult Learning and Skills

The London-based Macbeth Centre hosts stained glass classes suitable for all levels of ability. In addition, participants have the opportunity to study kiln-fired glass painting techniques, sand blasting and glass fusing.

Find out more via the website.

Address: Macbeth Centre, Macbeth Street, Hammersmith, London W6 9JJ.

Contact: Tim Cunliffe tim.cunliffe@lbhf.gov.uk
General alssinfo@lbhf.gov.uk Tel: 020 8753 3600.

 

Kent Adult Education

Covering the Canterbury and Sevenoaks areas, Kent Adult Education services offer short courses in stained glass and glass fusing, ranging from one day to several weeks in duration.

Visit the website for the latest information and details of venues.

 

Merton College

London's Merton College offers a course in stained and fused glass techniques for beginners and improvers.

Find out more about course content and dates via this link.

Address: London Road, Morden, Surrey SM4 5QX.

South Thames College

At South Thames College in London, students of all abilities can study 'Stained and Fused Glass: Traditional and Professional Contemporary Skills' on a short course.

The 10-week course is taught at the College's Tooting Centre, 71 Tooting High St, London SW17 0TQ.

Find out more and enrol here.

City of Glasgow College

Courses offered include an HNC Art and Design/HNC Fine Art (SCQF Level 7) and an evening class in Warm Glass. Both are held at the City Campus, 190 Cathedral Street, Glasgow G4 0RF, Scotland.


Find out more about the HNC here.


Find out more about the evening class here.

Contact: Eilidh MacKenzie eilidh.mackenzie@cityofglasgowcollege.ac.uk Tel: 0141 375 5555.

General: enquiries@cityofglasgowcollege.ac.uk


Website

Dudley College of Technology

Dudley College Of Technology offers a College Certificate in Creative Hot Glass, as well as Hot Glass Taster Days and the opportunity for people who want more experience with contemporary glass to hire the facilities for glassblowing, flameworking, coldworking and cutting.


These are available at the Evolve Campus, Tower Street, Dudley, West Midlands DY1 1AF.


Find out more here.

Contact: Stephen Foster stephen.foster@dudleycol.ac.uk Tel: 01384 363 832.

De Montfort University

A BA (Hons) Design Crafts including glass is offered by De Montfort University, at The Gateway, Leicester, Leicestershire LE1 9BH.


Find out more here.


Contact: Edmond Byrne edmond.byrne@dmu.ac.uk Tel: 0116 250 6529.

Website

Edinburgh College of Art

Edinburgh College Of Art is part of The University Of Edinburgh, Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DF, Scotland.


Applicants can study glass via the MA Contemporary Art Programme ('Digital Crafting').


Find out more about the MA here.

A new MA Craft Programme (including glass) will commence in September 2025.


Contact: Jessamy Kelly jessamy.kelly@ed.ac.uk General futurestudents@ed.ac.uk Tel: 0131 650 4086.


Website

Morley College London

Morley College London offers contemporary glass courses, ranging from BTecs to different glass workshops in techniques including screen printing on glass, stained glass, pate de verre, fusing.


The BTecs are run at the North Kensington Centre for Skills, Wornington Road, North Kensington, London W10 5QQ.


Students can take a BTec Level 2 Certificate in Art and Design – Glass and a BTec Certificate In Art and Design Level 3 – Glass. The tutor is Maria Zulueta.


Find out more about the BTec Level 2 here.

Find out more about the BTec Level 3 here.

Find out about current short courses in glass techniques via the website. Note: some courses may be held at the Waterloo Centre, 61 Westminster Bridge Road, London SE1 7HT.

Manchester School of Art

Manchester School Of Art, part of Manchester Metropolitan University (MMU), offers two courses incorporating glass - a BA (Hons) in Product Design and Craft and an MA/MSc Craft.


It is based at Chatham Building, Cavendish Street, Manchester, Greater Manchester M15 6BR.


Find out more about the BA here.


Find out more about the MA/MSc here.


Contact: Geoffrey Mann g.mann@mmu.ac.uk Tel: 0161 247 1007.


Website

Arts University Plymouth

A BA (Hons) in Craft and Material Practices is available at Arts University Plymouth, based at Tavistock Place, Plymouth, Devon PL4 8AT.


Find out more and apply here.


Contact: Gayle Matthias. gmatthias@aup.ac.uk and General: hello@aup.ac.uk Tel: 01752 203 434


Website

Royal College of Art

The Royal College Of Art offers an MA in Glass and Ceramics. It is based at the School Of Arts and Humanities, Battersea Campus, 22 Howie Street, Battersea, London SW11 4AS.


Find out more and apply here.


General information: ceramics-and-glass@rca.ac.uk Heike Brachlow heike.brachlow@rca.ac.uk


Website

Richmond and Hillcroft Adult Community College

Various short courses in glass are offered at Richmond and Hillcroft Adult Community College, part of Richmond Art School, Parkshot Campus, Parkshot, Richmond-Upon-Thames. Surrey, TW9 2RE.


There are courses in creative glass and stained glass, with options suitable for beginners, intermediate and advanced students.


For the latest course information, visit the website.


Contact: Monette Larsen monette.larsen@rhacc.ac.uk or General iag@rhacc.ac.uk Tel: 020 8843 7921 Ext. 5086

Swansea College of Art UWTSD

Swansea College Of Art is part of University Of Wales Trinity St. David, based at Alexandra Road, Swansea, West Glamorgan SA1 6ED.


It offers a BA (Hons) Design Crafts (Glass, Ceramics and Jewellery) and an MA in Contemporary Dialogues (Glass).


Find out more about the BA and apply via this link.


Find out about the MA and apply via this link.


Contact: Catherine Brown catherine.brown@sm.uwtsd.ac.uk Tel: 01792 481 058.


Website

University for the Creative Arts (UCA)

Based in Farnham, Surrey, UK, UCA offers a BA (Hons) Ceramics & Glass (Full Time) and MA Glass (Full Time)


Apply for BA via website


Apply for MA via website


General Tel: 01252 722 441. General Enquiries: enquiries@uca.ac.uk and Admissions: admissions@uca.ac.uk


Contact: Joshua Kerley. joshua.kerley@uca.ac.uk Tel: 01252 722 441 (Ext. 1498)


UCA Farnham website

University of Sunderland/National Glass Centre

The University's School Of Arts, Design & Media is based at the National Glass Centre, Liberty Way, Sunderland, Tyne and Wear. SR6 0GL.


It is accepting applicants for direct entry to the second and third years of its BA (Hons) Artist Designer Maker: Glass & Ceramics. It also offers an MA in Visual Practice (Glass Pathway).


Apply for BA via website


Apply for MA via website


Contact: Cate Watkinson. cate.watkinson@sunderland.ac.uk Tel: 0191 515 3000.


University website

Commercial

No resource found